H.E Mr. Josep Borrell Fontelles High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy



Brussels, 16 October 2024

Your Excellency,

Dear Mr. Borrell,

We congratulate you on your recent statements on the electoral situation in Venezuela, namely that, given the abundant evidence gathered by the opposition and the electoral tallies publicly presented by the Carter Center, 'Maduro did not win the elections and it was the opposition leader who won them'.

We also welcome its positive evolution and the diplomatic steps taken with regard to the Venezuelan situation, which should give constant support to those who daily fight for democracy and freedom in the country.

Having been so unequivocal about who won and who lost the elections, we urge you to take the logical and necessary step of expressly recognising Edmundo González Urrutia as the legitimate President-elect of Venezuela, in line with the European Parliament's Resolution of 19 September 2024 on the situation in Venezuela.

We also urge you to make every effort to ensure that the Venezuelan democracy and the will of the voters, as proven by the electoral tallies presented and independently verified, are respected.

If we know who lost and if we recognize who won a presidential election, we ought to name the winner what it's rightly due to him: President-elect.

To end the enduring humanitarian and socio-economic crisis perpetrated by the Maduro regime, the European Union and the international community must do their utmost to ensure a peaceful transition so that the legitimate and democratically elected president can take office on 10 January 2025, in accordance with the Venezuelan Constitution.

In light of the disturbing reports of increased oppression since Maduro's defeat was internationally recognised, the European Union must stand by those who – in such a difficult circumstance – do not give up on their rights and civic liberties.

We must condemn in the strongest possible terms the systematic pattern of human rights' violations perpetrated against the Venezuelan people. We owe the Venezuelans our support, solidarity and respect. Recognizing who they voted for should be a part of that.

Yours sincerely,

#### Manfred WEBER

EPP Group Chair, Christlich-Soziale Union in Bayern e.V., Germany

# François-Xavier BELLAMY

Head of the EPP French Delegation, Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Les Républicains, France

# Nikolina BRNJAC

EPP Group Member, Hrvatska demokratska zajednica, Croatia

#### Sebastião BUGALHO

Spokesperson of the PSD Delegation, EPP Vice-Coordinator for Foreign Affairs, Portugal

#### Daniel CASPARY

Head of the CDU Delegation, Chair of the EP-Israel Delegation, EPP, Germany

#### Nina CARBERRY

EPP Group Member, Fine Gael Party, Ireland

### Paulo CUNHA

Head of the PSD Delegation, EPP, Portugal

#### Salvatore DE MEO

Chair of the EP-NATO Delegation, EPP, Italy

#### Regina DOHERTY

Vice-Chair of the Committee on Tax Matters, EPP, Fine Gael Party, Ireland

#### Herbert DORFMANN

Head of the Südtiroler Volkspartei Delegation, Italy

## Christophe GOMART

Vice-Chair of the Security and Defence Committee, Les Républicains EPP, France

# Esteban GONZÁLEZ PONS

Vice-President of the European Parliament, Partido Popular, EPP, Spain

# Andrzej Witold HALICKI

Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Platforma Obywatelska, Poland

# Rasa JUKNEVIČIENĖ

EPP Group Member, Tėvynės sąjunga-Lietuvos krikščionys demokratai, Lithuania

# Sandra KALNIETE

Head of the EPP Latvian Delegation, Jaunā Vienotība, Latvia

# Ondřej KOLÁR

EPP Group Member, TOP 09 a Starostové, Czechia

# Andrey KOVATCHEV

Head of the EPP Bulgarian Delegation, Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria

# Miriam LEXMANN

Head of the EPP Slovakian Delegation, Kresťanskodemokratické hnutie, Slovakia

# Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ WHITE

Chair of the EP-Mexico Delegation, Partido Popular, Spain

#### Lukas MANDL

EPP Group Member, Österreichische Volkspartei, Austria

#### David MCALLISTER

Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Christlich Demokratische Union Deutschlands, EPP, Germany

#### Fulvio MARTUSCIELLO

Head of the Forza Italia Delegation, EPP, Italy

#### Gabriel MATO

Chair of the EP-Eurolat Delegation, Partido Popular, Spain

# Dolors MONTSERRAT

Head of the EPP Spanish Delegation, Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Vice-Chair of the Petitions Committee, Partido Popular

# Siegfried MUREŞAN

Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Chair of the EP-Moldova Delegation, Partidul Național Liberal, Romania

# Nicolás PASCUAL DE LA PARTE

EPP Group Member, Partido Popular, Spain

## Ana Miguel PEDRO

Head of the CDS Delegation, EPP, Portugal

# Lídia PEREIRA

Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, YEPP President, PSD, Portugal

#### Karlo RESSLER

Head of the EPP Croatian Delegation, Chair of the EP-Macedonia Delegation, Hrvatska demokratska zajednica, Croatia

#### Massimiliano SALINI

Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Forza Italia, Italy

#### Davor Ivo STIER

Chair of the EP-Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo Delegation, Hrvatska demokratska zajednica, Croatia

## Alice TEODORESCU MÅWE

EPP Group Member, Kristdemokraterna, Sweden

## Ingeborg TER LAAK

EPP Group Member, Christen Democratisch Appèl, Netherlands

# Tomas TOBÉ

Head of the EPP Swedish Delegation, Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Moderaterna, Sweden

# Matej TONIN

EPP Group Member, Nova Slovenija – Krščanski demokrati, Slovenia

# Željana ZOVKO

Vice-Chair of the EPP Group, Hrvatska demokratska zajednica, Croatia